When using GMS Auto Port how is the user information moved from one server to another?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. GMS
  4. When using GMS Auto Port how is the user information moved from one server to another?

Answer

Moving the existing mail server to another location and installing GMS in its place means that all the user log on requests go through GMS.

GMS then takes the username and password, verifies that the account exists on the old server, connects to that server and downloads and stores the users mailbox locally. Messages are then delivered to the users client directly from GMS.

Prior to the user logging on to GMS all further incoming messages are still passed to the old server. After the user has logged on they are retained on the GMS server and delivered directly to the users client.

Downloads

  • <

See Also:

Keywords:porting, autoport

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles