How do I move GMS from one machine to another?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. GMS
  4. How do I move GMS from one machine to another?

Question

How do I move my copy of GMS from one machine to another?

Answer

This answer refers to version 4 of GMS onwards.

Transferring GMS from one machine to another uses the recovery file or "setup.txt" file.

If you are moving your system before you start you should note the TCP/IP domain and hostname settings for your current system. Start by copying the DNS suffix settings as specified in these articles:

Setting a Windows DNS suffix

Setting a DNS suffix in Linux

Next, work through these steps in order to migrate your system:

  1. Check the build of GMS you are currently running by logging on to the administration interface and opening the Key page, the build number is given immediately below the list of installed keys.
  2. Download a copy of the installation file of this build for your chosen platform.
  3. Stop all of the GMS services on the server so that no data changes before it is all transferred to the new system.
    • If running on Windows change to the gordanobin directory and type "mail -stop" and press Enter. Now type "mail -yA" and press Enter. After a few minutes of activity (depending upon system size), a System Recovery file (called setup.txt) will be created in the current directory.
    • If running any of the Unix flavours change to the /opt/gordano/mail/bin directory and type "./glmail stop" and press Enter. Now type "./mail -yA" and press Enter. After a few minutes of activity (depending upon system size), a System Recovery file (called setup.txt) will be created in the current directory.Please note – From Build 3365 onwards, you can simply specify “mail -y” as “mail -yA” is no longer used.
  4. Install the same build of GMS on your destination system. If you are moving to the same OS platform do not install any keys (i.e. only install keys if you are changing from Windows to Unix or vice versa). If you are changing platforms log into the administration interface and apply the keys supplied to you for the new platform.
  5. Stop all the GMS services using the instructions above.
  6. Copy all of the GMS directories and files from the old system to the new system being careful to ensure they are copied to the same structure. (If changing OS platforms do not copy any executable files, and if copying from a CD ensure that all of the files have read write access and are not read only).
  7. Place the copy of the System Recovery file saved earlier into the bin directory of the new installation.
    • If running on windows this will be the gordanobin directory.
    • If running on any of the unix flavours this will be the /opt/gordano/mail/bin directory.
  8. Apply the System Recovery file to the new installation.
    • If running on Windows change to the gordanobin directory and type "mail -yrZ" and press Enter. Type "YES" when asked and press Enter. You should now see all of your settings being written to the new installation.
      Please note – From Build 3365 onwards, you can simply specify “mail -yr” as “mail -yrZ” is no longer used.
    • If running any of the Unix flavours change to the /opt/gordano/mail/bin directory and type "./mail -yrZ" and press Enter. Type "YES" when asked and press Enter. You should now see all of your settings being written to the new installation.
      Please note – From Build 3365 onwards, you can simply specify “mail -yr” as “mail -yrZ” is no longer used.
  9. Restart the mail services.
    • If running on Windows change to the gordanobin directory and type "mail -start" and press Enter.
    • If running any of the Unix flavours change to the /opt/gordano/mail/bin directory and type "./glmail start" and press Enter.

Finally, having made these changes you should (if possible) change the hostname on the old server, and give the new server the same hostname as the previous server.

Note: if you are have specified a path to save your system configuration file under Security->System recovery, and this path has changed on the new server, you should update this value after you have completed the move.

If you have configured your system to take advantage of the IP Connect feature amendments should be made to this to reflect new settings before moving systems.

See Also:

Keywords:moving recovery setup setup.txt move machine rebuild

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles