Can I upgrade to the latest release of WorkgroupShare, and if so, how?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Softalk
  4. Workgroupshare
  5. Can I upgrade to the latest release of WorkgroupShare, and if so, how?

Summary

If you are evaluating or are licenced for WorkgroupShare v2 click here to download the latest release of WorkgroupShare v2. Then follow the instructions below.

If you are licenced for WorkgroupShare v1 click here to download the latest release of WorkgroupShare v1. Then follow the instructions below.

The upgrade to v2 is free of charge for those with upgrade protection and a v2 keycode will be sent out automatically. Otherwise, to upgrade to v2 you will need to purchase an upgrade licence. To evaluate WorkgroupShare v2, download and install the latest release of WorkgroupShare v2 using the instructions below. WorkgroupShare will upgrade your existing settings and you will be given a 30 day evaluation licence. Click here to revert back to your original version of WorkgroupShare v1.

Detail

To install the new version, do the following:

  1. Shutdown the WorkgroupShare Administrator and the WorkgroupShare server program.
  2. Run the downloaded setup program on the WorkgroupShare server computer.
  3. Press Next until you get to the Finish page and then press Finish. The setup program will upgrade your WorkgroupShare servers’ program files to the new version and will leave your settings intact.
  4. Refer to the Release Notes to determine if the clients need to be updated, also. If necessary, upgrade each client in turn by shutting down Outlook and running the client setup program located on the WorkgroupShare server. For v1 clients you will need to run it first when logged on as the Administrator and then again when logged on as the user. For v2 clients the client setup only needs to be run once when logged on as the Administrator.

Please Note: If upgrading from a version of WorkgroupShare prior to v1.3 then you should first un-install WorkgroupShare and then re-install the program afresh. This is necessary in order to benefit from an increase in the database text field size. Please click here for more information on how to do this securely.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles