How does the installation of the WorkgroupShare client alter Outlook?
Installing the WorkgroupShare client adds a synchronization feature to Outlook that will run automatically in the background, at the frequency set on the server. It also adds a Share menu item to the Tools menu, that allows manual synchronization and client configuration.
Once the client has synchronized with the server, and there is shared information to view, a new folder called Shared Information is created in Outlook. This will contain public folders shared from the server and personal Outlook folders shared by other people. NB. Even though folders may have been shared to the server by others, their folders and data can only be accessed if the necessary access permissions have been granted.
WorkgroupShare is transparant to the Outlook user, with the exception of the Share menu item on the Tools menu and the newly visible shared folders. WorkgroupShare may occasionally display a dialogue box passing status and warning information to the Outlook user.