How do I move or re-install my WorkgroupShare v1 server to another computer or drive?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Softalk
  4. Workgroupshare
  5. How do I move or re-install my WorkgroupShare v1 server to another computer or drive?

Symptoms

  • You wish to move your WorkgroupShare v1 server program to a different computer, or
  • You wish to move your data folder to a different drive on the current computer

More Info

This FAQ applies to WorkgroupShare v1 only. Click here for details on How to move a WorkgroupShare v2 server to another computer or drive.

Detail

Before making any changes to the WorkgroupShare installation, shutdown the WorkgroupShare service (or program) and close the Administrator program. You should make a note of your company name and licence keycode and to consider making a backup copy of the WorkgroupShare database file as a precaution.

C:Program FilesWorkgroupShareDataWorkgroupShare.mdb

To move WorkgroupShare to a new computer

Copy the WorkgroupShare installation folder, C:Program FilesWorkgroupShare (by default), including sub-folders, to the new location on the new computer and re-install WorkgroupShare into the new folder. WorkgroupShare will detect and use your existing settings, including your licence key. If you are not running it already, this would be a good opportunity to upgrade to the latest version of WorkgroupShare.

When re-installing you may be given the option to install as an executable or as a service. If you install as a service and wish to revert back to the application or vice versa, just re-run the setup program. NB. When re-installing after the move is complete your settings will be preserved, provided you choose the data path that contains your database file.

Your original installation will serve as a backup copy during the move. When the move is complete, and the new installation has been tested, remove the original WorkgroupShare installation from the original computer using the Add/Remove Programs applet in Control Panel. Check that the WorkgroupShare installation folder has been removed and delete it if necessary.

When the original server folder has been deleted (or renamed/moved), the existing WorkgroupShare clients will indicate that the connection to the server could not be made. The user is prompted to enter the computer name or IP address of the new server. Once this has been done the client-server connection is re-established..

To move WorkgroupShare to a new drive on the same computer

Copy the WorkgroupShare installation folder, C:Program FilesWorkgroupShare (by default), including sub-folders, to the new drive and re-install WorkgroupShare into the new folder. WorkgroupShare will detect and use your existing settings, including your licence key, provided you choose the data path that contains your data. If you are not running it already, this would be a good opportunity to upgrade to the latest version of WorkgroupShare.

When re-installing you may be given the option to install as an executable or as a service. If you install as a service and wish to revert back to the application or vice versa, just re-run the setup program. NB. When re-installing after the move is complete your settings will be preserved, provided you choose the data path that contains your database file.

Your original installation will serve as a backup copy during the move. When the move is complete, and the new installation has been tested, delete the original WorkgroupShare folder (including sub folders).

Existing clients will continue to synchronize with the WorkgroupShare server as it is still installed on the same computer.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles