How do I prevent file access errors during the backup of my Softalk Collaboration Suite data?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Softalk
  4. Softalk Collaboration Suite
  5. How do I prevent file access errors during the backup of my Softalk Collaboration Suite data?

Symptoms

When backing up the Softalk Collaboration Suite data you receive an error that the file is locked, open, has changed or could not be opened.

Cause

The data files stored in the file system are often updated and may be locked, preventing your backup software from opening the files. Or, if the files can be opened then the contents may change during the backup meaning that the copy produced is corrupt and cannot be used to restore the original file.

Resolution

To stop this happening you need to stop each of the Softalk Collaboration Suite products so that the files that are to be backed up are not in use during the backup procedure.

Detail

If running as a service you can use the service control tools to stop and start the services. Click Start >> Run and type the following on the command line.

To Stop the services:
For Softalk Mail Server type: net stop “Softalk Mail Server”
For WorkgroupMail type: net stop WorkgroupMail
For WorkgroupShare type: net stop WorkgroupShare
For Softalk Organizer (to stop the IIS webserver) type: iisreset /stop

To start the services again:
For Softalk Mail Server type: net start “Softalk Mail Server”
For WorkgroupMail type: net start WorkgroupMail
For WorkgroupShare type: net start WorkgroupShare
For Softalk Organizer (to start the IIS webserver) type: iisreset /start

Many backup programs will allow you to stop services or run a command before and after they perform the backup. If not you would need to create one scheduled task using a batch file to shut down the mail server at a specified time, prior to starting the backup, and another scheduled task to restart the server when it is anticipated that the backup will be complete. (You would probably still want the various server programs to launch on startup, as is set by default).

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles