How can I completely re-install my WorkgroupShare v2 server and clients?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Softalk
  4. Workgroupshare
  5. How can I completely re-install my WorkgroupShare v2 server and clients?

Symptoms

This procedure must be followed when certain conditions exist within the WorkgroupShare database that are not rectified by just re-installing the server program.

More Info

Please note that uninstalling the client will irrevocably remove all public folder data. Please make sure that if you have public folders you first export them to a new PST file by using the Outlook import/export wizard thus:

File >> Import and Export, Export to a file, Personal Folder File (.pst), [ Select the required folders] and [Select the required PST file]

Before uninstalling the client, make sure that the PST file is backed up.

The default location and name for the PST file is %userprofile%Local SettingsApplication DataMicrosoftOutlookoutlook.pst for versions of Windows prior to Vista and %userprofile%AppDataLocalMicrosoftOutlookoutlook.pst for Vista and is successors. The location and name of the PST file may be determined by opening the Mail applet in Control Panel and clicking on Data Files.

The Mail Applet and Outlook will need to be shut down before the file can be copied.

Detail

Note that when performing this procedure all data on the server will be lost. Shared information from users’ Outlook folders can be recreated from the individual Outlook sources. However, data contained in Public folders on the WorkgroupShare server will be lost. To prevent this, a copy of the public folder data must first be made on any Outlook clien using the procedure described above.

On each client shut down Outlook and check using Task Manager that there are no instances of Outlook.exe in the process list. Un-install the WorkgroupShare client using the Add/Remove Programs applet in Control Panel. Note, you must be logged in as a power user or Administrator to do this. Choose to un-install and when prompted, choose to remove shared data from the server. If a server connection error or an incompatible data file error is reported, choose to un-install anyway.

Check that this has worked correctly:-

Open Outlook and check that the Shared Information folder has been deleted and also check that it does not exist in the Deleted Items folder. If Outlook had created copies of shared folders at the root level, delete these manually.

Check that there is no Share menu option in the Tools menu in Outlook. If one exists, remove it as described in this FAQ: How do I remove multiple Share menu items from the Tools menu in Outlook?

If there was only one WorkgroupShare client on this computer then the client installation folder and the Add/Remove Programs applet (for the WorkgroupShare client) should have been deleted. If it was not deleted then this indicates that other WorkgroupShare clients are waiting to be un-installed from this computer. Log in to Windows as each client in turn and un-install the WorkgroupShare client. When the last client has been un-installed the client installation folder and the Add/Remove Programs applet (for the WorkgroupShare client) will be deleted.

Note, the client installation folder should NOT be deleted manually. If it is still present then it is required to un-install other WorkgroupShare clients from the computer.

The default client installation folder is C:Program FilesWorkgroupShare Client

When all clients have been un-installed, un-install the WorkgroupShare server program using the Add/Remove Programs applet in Control Panel. Ensure that the following folder and its contents have been deleted:-

C:Program FilesWorkgroupShare

If it was not deleted then delete it manually.

Check also that the database file, SCS.mdb or WorkgroupShare.mdb, has been removed. This may have been in one of the following folders.

C:Program FilesCommon FilesSoftalkData
C:Program FilesWorkgroupShareData (if upgraded from WorkgroupShare v1).

Note that if using SQL server you should check that the database has been deleted from your SQL server.

Re-install the latest release of WorkgroupShare , referring to the following FAQ
Can I upgrade to the latest release of WorkgroupShare, and if so, how?. Re-create your users. Then, on each client computer, re-install the WorkgroupShare client using the ‘WorkgroupShare Client Setup’ shared folder on the server.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles