Can I forward mail from a user account without losing the original recipient information?

  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Softalk
  4. Softalk Mail Server
  5. Can I forward mail from a user account without losing the original recipient information?

Symptoms

If forwarding is configured on a user account in WorkgroupMail 8.0.4 and earlier, messages forwarded to external recipients are re-addressed and lose the original recipient information.

Cause

This is by design, but it does not suit all situations and circumstances. Messages forwarded to local recipients are moved to the new mailbox unmodified. Messages forwarded to external recipients are modified to show the new address, and the original recipient information is lost. The behaviour has been modified in WorkgroupMail v8.0.5 and later so that all messages are now forwarded without modification.

Resolution

Upgrade to the latest release of WorkgroupMail v8 Click here.

For WorkgroupMail v7 with Content Filtering, configure a rule as described below.

Detail

For WorkgroupMail v7 with Content Filtering, where forwarded messages should retain the original recipient information, create a rule to do the forwarding. This will require that the Content filtering plug-in has been correctly licenced and installed. Set No Forwarding on the user account and create a rule as follows

Forwarding for John Smith
Check all messages. If message sent to John Smith and message not sent from MailScan redirect message to john@otherdomain.com

This will re-direct the message leaving the original message header intact.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles